Prize for Best Refereed Paper(s)

(Single Stream)
Not Awarded
Not Awarded
Not Awarded
Anna Hart (Lancashire Polytechnic)*
ES85 ???
ES86 ???
ES87 (No competition)
ES88 John Domingue (Open University)
ES89 Alun Preece (University College, Swansea)
ES90 ???
ES91 (No competition)

Technical: Susan Craw, Derek Sleeman, Nicolas Graner, Michael Rissakis and Sunil Sharma (University of Aberdeen)
Applications: Chris Harris-Jones, Toby Barrett (BIS Information Systems), T.Walker (Expert Systems Ltd.), T.Moores and J.Edwards (Aston Business School)

Technical Stream
Applications Stream
ES93 John Kingston (University of Edinburgh) (No compettion)
ES94 John Hunt (University of Wales) Linda Young and Stanley Cauvain (Flour Milling and Baking Research Association)
ES95 François Pachet, Pierre Roy (Université Paris 6, France) Robert Milne and Charlie Nicol (Intelligent Applications Ltd.), Louise Travé-Massuyès (LAAS-CNRS, France), Joseba Quevedo (Polytechnic University of Catalonia, Spain)
ES96 Christophe Giraud-Carrier (University of Bristol) B.P.Marchant (British Aerospace Defence Ltd.), F.Cerbah (Dassault Aviation, France) and C.S.Mellish (University of Edinburgh)
ES97 Kamal Nazar and Max Bramer (University of Portsmouth) Peter Lucas (Utrecht University, The Netherlands), Henk Boot and Babs Taal (Netherlands Cancer Institute)
ES98 David McSherry (University of Ulster) Dan Gardingen (Western Air Ltd., Australia) and Ian Watson (University of Salford)
ES99 Alun Preece and Kit Hui (University of Aberdeen), Alex Gray and Philippe Marti (Cardiff University), Trevor Bench-Capon and Dean Jones (University of Liverpool) and Zhan Cui (BT Laboratories) Barry Smyth and Paul Cotter (University College, Dublin)
ES2000 Jon Timmis (University of Kent) and Mark Neal (University of Wales) Pablo Gervás (Universidad Europea - CEES, Madrid, Spain)
ES2001 Adil Hameed, Derek Sleeman and Alun Preece (University of Aberdeen) Bojan Dolsak (University of Maribor, Slovenia)
ES2002 Maarja Kruusmaa (Tallinn Technical University, Estonia) and Jan Willemson (Tartu University, Estonia) Stewart Long and Roy Dowsing (University of East Anglia) and Patrick Craven (OCR Examinations)
* by audience voting

Prize Sponsors

ES81-ES90: ???

ES91: No Competition
ES92: Logica Cambridge (both prizes)
ES93: Hewlett-Packard Laboratories (Bristol)/ILOG Ltd. (first and second prizes in technical stream)

Technical Stream
ES94: Hewlett-Packard Laboratories (Bristol)
ES95: Hewlett-Packard Laboratories (Bristol)
ES96: Hewlett-Packard Laboratories (Bristol)
ES97: Hewlett-Packard Laboratories (Bristol)
ES98: Hewlett-Packard Laboratories (Bristol)
ES99: Hewlett-Packard Laboratories (Bristol)
ES2000: Hewlett-Packard Laboratories (Bristol)
ES2001: Hewlett-Packard Laboratories (Bristol)
ES2002: Hewlett-Packard Laboratories (Bristol)
AI-2003: Hewlett-Packard Laboratories (Bristol)

Applications Stream
ES94: ?????????
ES95: British Airways
ES96: British Airways
ES97: British Airways
ES98: British Airways
ES99: British Airways
ES2001: InferMed
ES2002: InferMed
AI-2003: Department of Trade and Industry